…but you can’t take the classroom out of the teacher.

1 Dec

Before I had my three girls (now 8,6 1/2, 3 1/2) I was an elementary school teacher. I taught kindergarten, first, and second grades. Ever since I was a little girl, I knew that as an adult I would have two main roles: teacher and mother. I have come to find out that these two roles are inseparable. When I left my teaching position at the schools to raise my children, I was not by any means taking a leave from my career. The teacher in me has had an impact on each and every decision I make as a mother. I am certain that when I return to the classroom, my role as a mother will impact each and every decision I make as a teacher.

Though I may not have known it, the idea for this blog has been in my mind for almost 9 years. I received a letter from a parent of a 3 year old in my former school district which set my mind rolling. I will go into more detail in my next post.

As anyone who knows me will tell you, I have a lot to say. I would love to be able to make parents think, really think, about how they fill their time with their kids. As we know, kids are not kids for long. They grow up so quickly. What role do we as parents have in shaping our kids for school before they begin? Do we have a role? These are questions you can consider as you read my opinions. There will be many of you who disagree, I am simply throwing my own two cents into the very fast-paced, opinionated world of parenting.

3 Responses to “…but you can’t take the classroom out of the teacher.”

  1. sari November 30, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Sarah December 1, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    You’re such a tease! I want to read it now!

  3. Jessica Davis December 2, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

